Top IT Governance Certifications You Should Pursue In 2021

Top IT Governance Certifications You Should Pursue In 2021

The importance of IT governance for a company can not be ignored. To ensure that the IT infrastructure matches and supports the business goals of an organization in an effective way, the IT governance palys a very important role in IT area, not only for the companies but also for the hoders. IT governance certifications provide a validation and demonstration of the individual’s knowledge in the governance of IT systems and enterprises. So obtaining an IT governance certification is a good idea for any IT practitioner who wants to specialize in IT governance. But amony all the IT governance certifications, most candidates do not know which are the best IT governance certifications, here we have several top IT governance certification below which are popular in 2021 that you should pursue:

  • Certified in Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT)
  • Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)
  • GRC Certifications

Certified in Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT)

Certified in Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT), which issued by ISACA, is framework agnostic and the only IT governance certification for the individual being able to put you in the role of a trusted advisor to your enterprise. Certified in Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) certification demonstrates that holders have the expert knowledge and experience necessary to support GEIT (governance of enterprise IT) ensuring that an organization’s IT is governed from the top, and therefore aligned with business needs and goals.

CGEIT is awarded to candidates with at least five years’ relevant work experience who pass a rigorous written exam based on five job practice domains:
Domain 1: Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT (25% of exam)
Domain 2: Strategic Management (20% of exam)
Domain 3: Benefits Realization (16% of exam)
Domain 4: Risk Optimization (24% of exam)
Domain 5: Resource Optimization (15% of exam)

The actual ISACA CGEIT exam contains 150 real questions requiring to complete in 4 hours. Learning CGEIT exam questions as the practice materials is recommended.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) is the only credential focused on enterprise IT risk management validating the holders’ experience in building a well-defined, agile risk-management program, based on best practices to identify, analyze, evaluate, assess, prioritize and respond to risks for enhancing benefits realization and delivers optimal value to stakeholders. This certification is is ideal for mid-career IT/IS audit, risk and security professionals.

Why so many candidates come for the Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) certification? The CRISC certification:

  • is a tangible indicator of your knowledge and expertise as a risk professional;
  • increases your value for any company or organization that wants to manage IT risk effectively;
  • grants you a competitive edge over other candidates who are applying for a position or are seeking a promotion;
  • grants you access to the ISACA global community of knowledge, including the most current ideas regarding IT risk management;
  • helps you gain and maintain a high standard of professional conduct via ISACA’s requirements for continuing education and ethics.

It is required to pass CRISC exam to earn the Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) certification. It mainly tests four domains as listed:
Domain 1 – Information Security Governance (24%)
Domain 2 – Information Risk Management (30%)
Domain 3 – Information Security Program Development and Management (27%)
Domain 4 – Information Security Incident (19%)

GRC Certifications

GRC Certifications help you improve across all GRC disciplines by filling gaps in your education or experience. Currently there are two CRC certifications, including GRC Professional Certification and GRC Audit Certification.

GRC Professional Certification

GRC Professional Certification (GRCP) gives assurance that the GRC Professional has core knowledge, skills and understanding of managing and advising on risk, internal controls, key compliance matters and functions compliance, and how these must be integrated for effective and appropriate governance. The GRCP Exam is open book which means that you may use Google and other resources while taking the exam. Real GRCP exam contains 100 questions, you need to get 70% score to pass it.

GRC Professional Certification (GRCP) covers two sections to test your skills:

  • General Knowledge / Introduction 15%
  • GRC Capability Model Details 85%

GRC Audit Certification

To earn the GRC Audit (GRCA) certification ensures that you understand and are able to audit GRC activities. It requires the candidates to have a GRC Professional (GRCP) certification. The GRCA certifies that an individual has the core understanding and skills to assess, evaluate, and audit GRC capabilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.